2023 Dates TBD


Our annual National Preaching Conference will not be held this year because of COVID-19. However, we invite you to participate in a workshop led by Dr. Matthew Kim.

This workshop offers an important corrective to a pain-averse culture that celebrates individualism and success, encouraging pastors to preach on the painful issues their congregations face. Through vulnerability and self-disclosure, Dr. Kim will help you consider and share about personal and congregational struggles for the purpose of healing and transformation. You will receive guidance on how to identify personal pain, explore various types of suffering among your church members, and work through nine questions that will facilitate the move from hermeneutics to homiletics regarding sermons on pain and suffering.

Tuesday, May 31, 2022 | 1-3 p.m. | Online
Cost $50, which includes a copy of Preaching to People in Pain


Preaching to People in Pain

Christianity Today 2022 Book Award Winner (Church & Pastoral Leadership)

This latest publication from Dr. Kim guides preachers in exploring Bible passages about pain and suffering so that they can lean into the painful issues their congregations are facing to help bring about the Lord’s healing and transformation. The book includes stories, shares relevant Scripture texts imparting biblical wisdom, and offers best practices for preaching on specific topics. Each chapter ends with discussion questions and a sample sermon.

Dr. Matthew Kim is the George F. Bennett Professor of Preaching and Practical Theology, Director of the Robinson Center for Preaching, and Director of Mentored Ministry. His scholarly interests include hermeneutics, homiletics, pastoral ministry, racial reconciliation, pain and suffering, cultural exegesis, and the Asian American church. 

He is the author or editor of numerous books, including Preaching with Cultural Intelligence (2018 Preaching magazine Book of the Year), The Big Idea Companion for Preaching and Teaching, and Preaching to People in Pain (2022 Christianity Today Book Award).